Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help Needed

Thanks

Default Help Needed

Hello everyone . Im new to satellites and im stuck at the momment on trying to get any signal from my dish. I have a 85 cm dish which has a single ku lnb on it i think its frequency is 11.30 ghz. I have my dish connected to my receiver which is a dreamax 480 (openbox x-810). Using my sat finder I have tried to pick up various satellites such as optus d1, c1 and b3, pas8 etc. No luck. Do i have to set the receiver to a certain frequency? Or adjust the LNB? Any help would be greatly appreaciated. Thanks.

Look Here ->
    Thanks

Have a read around here, lots of advice.

A good place to start is

Thanks

Thanks.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,452 Times in 1,066 Posts

Talking Dish set up.

Quote Originally Posted by Danny View Post
    Hello everyone . Im new to satellites and im stuck at the momment on trying to get any signal from my dish. I have a 85 cm dish which has a single ku lnb on it i think its frequency is 11.30 ghz. I have my dish connected to my receiver which is a dreamax 480 (openbox x-810). Using my sat finder I have tried to pick up various satellites such as optus d1, c1 and b3, pas8 etc. No luck. Do i have to set the receiver to a certain frequency? Or adjust the LNB? Any help would be greatly appreaciated. Thanks.
    G'Day Danny,
    As you seem to have discovered, not as easy as it may first appear.
    Either set up your receiver where you can see the signal level from where you are adjusting the dish, or get a signal level meter to put in series with the co-ax feed at the dish. Available from e-bay etc for about $30.
    1. Make sure your vertical mount (mast) is plumb. (Vertical in all directions).
    2. Find the elevation from your location and set that on your mast mount.
    3. Determine azimuth from your location. (Relative to True North).
    4. Leave the dish a little loose so you can swing it L/R.