Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: VAST cams in PVR 3rd party decoders

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Willow Tree NSW Australia
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    25

    Default VAST cams in PVR 3rd party decoders

    Hi everyone,

    In looking around for what VAST options are available I came across this product being marketed by a company in QLD. V@nsat are selling this equipment as part of a kit but I am not convinced this is legal.

    I appreciate any advice the forum members may be able to give me that will reassure me about this gear.

    many thanks
    frank

    this a link to the advertisement which should show you what I am on about re the type 3 option.
    Last edited by K&FT; 22-11-13 at 12:26 PM.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toowoomba, Qld
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 145 Times in 76 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    1095

    Default

    Apparently it can be fitted to their auto dish controller.

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Willow Tree NSW Australia
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    25

    Default

    G'day Rod,
    when I had a look on the ACMA site(suppliers) there was a statement that these cams could only be used in commercial rack mounted receivers! so the rules may have changed but I don't know where to find out.

    If a cam can be used in Vansat gear why not in other compatible gear?

    frank

  • #4
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    52
    Posts
    30,884
    Thanks
    2,202
    Thanked 13,333 Times in 5,677 Posts
    Rep Power
    4332
    Reputation
    157845

    Default

    There has been a previous thread or 2 about vast cams, a search might provide more.

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Willow Tree NSW Australia
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    25

    Default

    thanks admin
    I did try a couple of searches but could not find what I was looking for.
    might have to try some different keywords

    frank

  • #6
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    52
    Posts
    30,884
    Thanks
    2,202
    Thanked 13,333 Times in 5,677 Posts
    Rep Power
    4332
    Reputation
    157845

    Default

    Sorry for the non informative reply, I cant type much at the moment.

    Try here

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Willow Tree NSW Australia
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    25

    Default

    many thanks Admin, hope you get better sooon.

    seems to be lots of people selling them and lots using them

    My query is whether it is legal and I cannot find anything that helps me with that question.

    frank
    Last edited by K&FT; 22-11-13 at 06:41 PM. Reason: add more detail

  • #8
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,168
    Thanks
    5,498
    Thanked 4,019 Times in 1,703 Posts
    Rep Power
    1219
    Reputation
    46701

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K&FT View Post

    My query is whether it is legal and I cannot find anything that helps me with that question.

    frank
    My understanding is that these cams are really intended for use in equipment installed at re-broadcast sites and not for "general consumption" by VAST users at large.

    (See ).

    The question is not the legality of the CAM itself, but rather the manner in which you intend to use it.

    As I see it, in very simple terms, the VAST approved STB is being replaced by a non-approved STB fitted with a VAST-approved conditional access module, albeit one intended for use at a re-broadcast site.

    Further informed comment would need to stem from a thorough understanding of the government legislation underpinning the provision of the VAST service and the regulator's (Australian Communications and Media Authority) enforcement of the legislation, something which most people would not have. As with many government reguations, it is probably a rather murky area, open to a number of slightly different interpretations.

    The simple solution is to purchase and use the CAM if you wish to, but keep it to yourself. If no-one else is aware nothing untoward will occur.

    Note the limitations on its use (from the link above), i.e. "Can decode up to 8 satellite channels over 1 transponder.
    If services are spread over multiple transponders, 1 cam per transponder is required".
    Last edited by tristen; 22-11-13 at 08:24 PM. Reason: More comment added.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to tristen For This Useful Post:

    K&FT (22-11-13)

  • #9
    Premium Member
    LeroyPatrol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N.E. Vic
    Posts
    15,963
    Thanks
    3,356
    Thanked 4,501 Times in 2,700 Posts
    Rep Power
    1526
    Reputation
    42371

    Default

    If you can get one go for it but you do need a HD receiver with a CAM slot.

    Leroy
    XCRUISER HDSR600HD twin sat and terrestrial receiver $OOS *
    XCRUISER HDSR385 Avant - sold out$OOS UltraPlus DVB-T and DVB-S2 tuners $49 Remotes $OOS

  • The Following User Says Thank You to LeroyPatrol For This Useful Post:

    K&FT (22-11-13)

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Willow Tree NSW Australia
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    25

    Default

    Many thanks fellas, now I understand how it has been working.
    I was correct in my thoughts that these cams were not really authorised for the use they are being put to and are indeed intended for rack mounted gear in a retransmission site.

    I can stick with the STB way of doing things

    appreciate your time to reply

    frank

  • The Following User Says Thank You to K&FT For This Useful Post:

    tristen (22-11-13)

  • #11
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,265
    Thanks
    139
    Thanked 643 Times in 368 Posts
    Rep Power
    403
    Reputation
    10815

    Default

    If ACMA wanted to, and perhaps may if the VAST operators complain enough, it could make the CAMs restricted items requiring proof of ID and proof of use before purchase in much the same way that has been done with micro-repeaters for mobile networks.

  • #12
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    18,023
    Thanks
    5,298
    Thanked 11,730 Times in 5,776 Posts
    Rep Power
    4148
    Reputation
    170291

    Default

    There used to be a requirement to submit an application for activation of these cams/cards, specifying detailed information on the equipment being used and the fixed address of the installation. Eg: the commercial premises, repeater site, etc.

  • #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Willow Tree NSW Australia
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    25

    Default

    G'day, the question came up when a mate was looking for a solution whilst travelling in a motorhome and not wanting to install two boxes. so the card would be activated as a traveller.
    not sure if the card would be known to vast admin as a card and cam pair rather than a card in a stb.
    the company selling them state they have been working on this solution for 6 years!!

    I am inclined to advise the mate that he could run into some difficulties when he tries to register the card as a traveller.

    thanks for your assistance.

    frank

  • #14
    Premium Member
    LeroyPatrol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N.E. Vic
    Posts
    15,963
    Thanks
    3,356
    Thanked 4,501 Times in 2,700 Posts
    Rep Power
    1526
    Reputation
    42371

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K&FT View Post
    the company selling them state they have been working on this solution for 6 years!!
    What a crock! They are just reselling items. If you manage to get a cam/card it's activated the same as the stb's.

    Leroy
    XCRUISER HDSR600HD twin sat and terrestrial receiver $OOS *
    XCRUISER HDSR385 Avant - sold out$OOS UltraPlus DVB-T and DVB-S2 tuners $49 Remotes $OOS

  • #15
    Premium Member
    Smacca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,130
    Thanks
    627
    Thanked 1,027 Times in 407 Posts
    Rep Power
    416
    Reputation
    11607

    Default

    I bought a CAM a while ago now and I registered it using the same location details as the UEC. No questions asked, activated immediately. This was when they were being sold as "single service CAMs" from vendors like DPandA and Sci Tec, but apparently there's no difference between it and the multi-service one (even though I can't for the life of me get the thing to decode more than 1 channel at a time, so I'm not sure whether they are the exact same). They got pulled not long after I got mine and the vendors told me that VAST would be introducing a separate application to stop DTH use (mtv touched on it above).

    | www.SatTVGuide.com.au |

    Volunteer, non-profit online TV guides for VAST viewers.

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Smacca For This Useful Post:

    K&FT (03-05-14),marty 17 (27-11-13),Tiny (27-11-13)

  • #16
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 21 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    147
    Reputation
    175

    Default

    I note that Vansat have updated the page. It makes the use of the CAM more obvious. Looks they don't sell it separately to their automatic satellite systems .

    'bec
    Last edited by rebecca22; 28-11-13 at 06:30 AM.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rebecca22 For This Useful Post:

    K&FT (03-05-14),tristen (28-11-13)

  • #17
    Premium Member
    LeroyPatrol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N.E. Vic
    Posts
    15,963
    Thanks
    3,356
    Thanked 4,501 Times in 2,700 Posts
    Rep Power
    1526
    Reputation
    42371

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rebecca22 View Post
    I note that Vansat have updated the page. It makes the use of the CAM more obvious. Looks they don't sell it separately to their automatic satellite systems .

    'bec
    And it looks like a quality receiver

    Leroy
    XCRUISER HDSR600HD twin sat and terrestrial receiver $OOS *
    XCRUISER HDSR385 Avant - sold out$OOS UltraPlus DVB-T and DVB-S2 tuners $49 Remotes $OOS

  • #18
    Premium Member
    Smacca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,130
    Thanks
    627
    Thanked 1,027 Times in 407 Posts
    Rep Power
    416
    Reputation
    11607

    Default

    Meanwhile Sat Tronics does sell them separately and even says "will work in most CAM enabled receivers". Beauty



    Edit: Kristal sells them, too. "...Although it may work in domestic CI receivers,":

    Last edited by Smacca; 28-11-13 at 04:06 PM.

    | www.SatTVGuide.com.au |

    Volunteer, non-profit online TV guides for VAST viewers.

  • #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 64 Times in 44 Posts
    Rep Power
    170
    Reputation
    620

    Default

    Has the price come down since they first went on sale.

  • #20
    Premium Member
    LeroyPatrol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N.E. Vic
    Posts
    15,963
    Thanks
    3,356
    Thanked 4,501 Times in 2,700 Posts
    Rep Power
    1526
    Reputation
    42371

    Default

    Well I got one for $180 12mths ago so I don't think they've come down in price lol

    Leroy
    XCRUISER HDSR600HD twin sat and terrestrial receiver $OOS *
    XCRUISER HDSR385 Avant - sold out$OOS UltraPlus DVB-T and DVB-S2 tuners $49 Remotes $OOS

  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •