Thread: Outdoor Speaker Problem

Thanks

Default Outdoor Speaker Problem

Ok, long story, but I agreed to help the local lawn bowls club to put in some sort of stereo (inside and outside) for functions/club hires etc..
    I have no background in anything audio, but I thought "How hard can it be" ?

Well this is were the problems started I picked up a Panasonic VK70D stereo in excellent condition from gumtree. This is ample for what they want. I hooked this up in the club rooms and ran some speaker wire and it all worked beautifully ! I was a genius !
    Then came the outdoor speaker section. I purchased a speaker selector off ebay (same as ) and some outdoor speakers - same as and hooked it all up.
    I turned the stereo on and it was playing through the inside speakers. I switch that off using the selector, and switched on the outside speakers. Success !! How easy is this !! I am still a genius !! BUT..... it quickly turned to crap
    The outdoor speakers lasted about 2 minutes and 'blew' ?? It sounds like the tweeter is still working, but the woofer (bass sound) is not there any more.
    I havent taken them apart yet, and I haven't connected them up to another audio source to see if they still work. it could be the speakers, it could be the switch ( is there anything inside of those things apart from well a switch ??).
    Here are the specs from the stereo - what I want to know is if this is all compatible. As I said I am happy with the stereo itself, but do I need different speakers (the stereo is 6 ohm, and the speakers 8ohm - I thought this would be ok ? I thought it was the other way that put strain on the amp ?), is it the switch that can't take it ??
    I still have to test it (will do over weekend - still a bit upset it didn't work and I looked like a twit )
    Cheers for any advice