Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Amplifying microphone level for video capture

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    636
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    177
    Reputation
    171

    Default Amplifying microphone level for video capture

    We bought our son a capture box for Xmas which has a microphone input (so he can record commentary whilst playing Minecraft and other Xbox games). We've tried two microphone's and the input sound level is extremely low (even with game sounds turned off), so I'm looking for a cheap solution. The game audio coming from the Xbox is fine, it's just the microphone input on the capture box that's low.

    Is it a preamp that I need to buy? If so, can anyone recommend a cheap option (ie. under $50) or am I dreaming? I've read some stuff but thought I would check with you guys to give me some advice.

    PS - I know I can use my video editing software to increase audio volume but this increases game audio/sounds as well. Also, recording commentary later via software (ie. as a voice-over) isn't going to work very well.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    18,233
    Thanks
    5,382
    Thanked 11,964 Times in 5,884 Posts
    Rep Power
    4267
    Reputation
    175599

    Default

    A small mixer (eg Behringer single mic) should do the job.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    AussieM8 (07-01-15)

  • #3
    Junior Member TZB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 39 Times in 27 Posts
    Rep Power
    172
    Reputation
    585

    Default

    Jaycar have a few options:

  • The Following User Says Thank You to TZB For This Useful Post:

    AussieM8 (07-01-15)

  • #4
    Senior Member
    Reschs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Outside a few schooners
    Posts
    2,688
    Thanks
    612
    Thanked 1,625 Times in 818 Posts
    Rep Power
    665
    Reputation
    22798

    Default

    Have you tried turning the Mic Volume up in the capture box ?
    Model number so we can search for the manual.
    Can you post the manual that came with it.
    Last edited by Reschs; 07-01-15 at 11:02 PM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Reschs For This Useful Post:

    AussieM8 (07-01-15)

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    636
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    177
    Reputation
    171

    Default

    Thanks but there isn't any volume on the capture box


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  • #6
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,791 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    583
    Reputation
    15604

    Default

    Build a directional microphone using 2 mics and a simple op-amp.
    Keeps the game sound at a low level and can be adjusted to the needs in terms of output level.
    But if you only tried these tiny capacitor microphone you might want to try a standard, magnetic type first.
    I had a cheap recorder once and it did not like recording, a friend gave me a crappy, heavy mikrophone to test that used a capsule like in old phone and it worked a treat.
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Downunder35m For This Useful Post:

    AussieM8 (08-01-15)

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Reschs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Outside a few schooners
    Posts
    2,688
    Thanks
    612
    Thanked 1,625 Times in 818 Posts
    Rep Power
    665
    Reputation
    22798

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AussieM8 View Post
    Thanks but there isn't any volume on the capture box


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    It would be software controlled and not a physical knob.

  • #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    636
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    177
    Reputation
    171

    Default

    Sorry mate bit it's a standalone capture box that accepts a USB stick and not connected to a PC


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Reschs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Outside a few schooners
    Posts
    2,688
    Thanks
    612
    Thanked 1,625 Times in 818 Posts
    Rep Power
    665
    Reputation
    22798

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AussieM8 View Post
    Sorry mate bit it's a standalone capture box that accepts a USB stick and not connected to a PC


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Hence my initial request for model details or copy of manual.

    If you are capable of electronic kit assembly, the Silicon Chip Champ Preamp from Altronics or Jaycar is your answer.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •