Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Garmin TOPO Australia & NZ v5 - Mapsource/.gmap version

  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,229
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 620 Times in 341 Posts
    Rep Power
    355
    Reputation
    10796

    Default Garmin TOPO Australia & NZ v5 - Mapsource/.gmap version

    Is anybody able to assist with an unlocked Mapsource version of Garmin TOPO Australia & NZ v5?

    I have tried a number of different methods of converting the unlocked .img file, and all have been unsuccessful for me. Can't say I've ever had much success with converting .img files for use in Mapsource.

    Thanks.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    58
    Posts
    5,626
    Thanks
    9,240
    Thanked 4,296 Times in 2,218 Posts
    Rep Power
    1607
    Reputation
    66257

    Default

    There are 2 ways to do this that I know of & have used, one is MapSetToolkit & the other is GmapTool, both use cGpsmapper as the map compiler.

    GmapTool is probably the easiest to explain for this purpose.

    1: First get GmapTool & cGpsmapper (free edition). Used to be free, but looks like it has become shareware with 30 day trial. you may have to do some searching to find a free link to it if you don't already have the free version.

    2: Unzip & install GmapTool - if you it got from a zipped source. Best source is

    3: Unzip cGpsmapper & put in a folder, where it can live forever, for GmapTool to find.

    4: Open GmapTool

    5: Go to the options tab & set the path (folder location) for cgpsmapper.exe, at lower part of tab

    6: Same tab make sure verbose output & advanced options are ticked.

    7: In files tab select add files, select the unlocked map you want to put in mapsource.

    8: Select the Split tab, select the Directory for the output files (there will be lots of them), can be anywhere you like. If you don't have an empty folder called say Garmin Topo V5 or anything you like, create one using the output directory (Create a new Directory Button top right) or create it using windows then use Gmaptool to navigate to it.
    EDIT: this needs to be a permanent location for this folder & it's files. C:\Garmin\Topo5 or something like that might be a good place to create it.

    9: Still in the split tab, Select Create "files for Mapsource"

    10: Tick; Compile preview map.

    11: Check all info above is done then Select "Split all".

    12: You will get a verbose dialog that opens up & shows the process, may take a while for large maps, when it is finished a Cmd prompt will open to say operation successful press any key to continue, (space bar will do) then space bar to close Cmd prompt.
    You can close GmapTool if you like.

    13: You're almost there, now go to the folder that you put the output files in, scroll to bottom & find "Install.bat" Click on file & it will install the mapset in MapSource. You must be logged in as Admin in windows to do this.

    14: Open MapSource & select the Map from your menu & it should be all good. Depending on your current zoom level you may need to zoom in to see the map.

    Good luck.
    Last edited by Tiny; 10-04-15 at 06:10 PM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

    heith1 (09-12-15),peteramjet (10-04-15)

  • #3
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,229
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 620 Times in 341 Posts
    Rep Power
    355
    Reputation
    10796

    Default

    Worked a treat Tiny. Many thanks for your help.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to peteramjet For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (11-04-15)

  • #4
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    58
    Posts
    5,626
    Thanks
    9,240
    Thanked 4,296 Times in 2,218 Posts
    Rep Power
    1607
    Reputation
    66257

    Default

    Great that worked for you.

    I forgot to mention that the above method & any other method using cGpsmapper free version will disable the search by address feature for that map in MapSource.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #5
    Member
    Surething's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    284
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 226 Times in 137 Posts
    Rep Power
    145
    Reputation
    3260

    Default

    Why not just use BaseCamp? It can see and use any .img file [even locked ones] on a device [or an SD, microSD, usb stick or even a virtual SD on your HDD] and no problems with all search functions either. MapSource is outdated and unsupported now unfortunately.

  • #6
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,229
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 620 Times in 341 Posts
    Rep Power
    355
    Reputation
    10796

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Surething View Post
    Why not just use BaseCamp? It can see and use any .img file [even locked ones] on a device [or an SD, microSD, usb stick or even a virtual SD on your HDD] and no problems with all search functions either. MapSource is outdated and unsupported now unfortunately.
    I do use Basecamp, but I want to be able to use the map without it being on an external drive. Installing the map through Mapsource is the easiest way to make it usable through Basecamp in this fashion.

    Mapsource may be outdated but is still needed for this reason.
    Last edited by peteramjet; 11-04-15 at 10:45 PM.

  • #7
    Member
    Surething's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    284
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 226 Times in 137 Posts
    Rep Power
    145
    Reputation
    3260

    Default

    Sure, i understand that you're wanting to have it on your PC. I like MS over BC/MI but it's horse 'n' buggy technology now and it's also outdated thinking imo to say that a map is needed to be installed to be usable [but 'to each his own', 'one man's meat etc'] so whatever works best for you. Although, perhaps you missed the significance of this in my previous post:
    or even a virtual SD on your HDD
    That's definitely the easiest way imo, but it will disappear when you reboot and have to be remounted again. If you want ImDisk and how to use it, go here:
    Code:
    http://www.gpspower.net/garmin-tutorials/180904-create-virtual-sd-your-pc-show-maps-homeport-basecamp.html
    To remount automatically at start up, see Posts #38 & 39 in there.

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    126
    Reputation
    35

    Default I like Mapsource

    I also continue to use Mapsource when at home. I like to plan a trip and then alter that planned journey by the "elastic banding" function, which Basecamp does not have. I do note however that the same/similar function is on my new NuviCam. It is not as nice to use as Mapsource though. Thanks for the info Tiny.

  • #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default



    if anyone is interested

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Thats V5 above this is V4 in the link below


  • #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    144
    Reputation
    221

    Default

    Install Basecamp with the Topo mapset as you normally would,
    Use GarminUnlocker.exe in command line to point directly at the mapset TBD file:
    c:\garminunlocker tbd C:\ProgramData\etc (file path to tbd file) in the directory the mapset was installed to.
    Basecamp will stop prompting to unlock maps.

    Send maps to GPS unit (they are still locked for the GPS unit),
    Use Jetmouse Keygen to generate unlock code for your GPS unit using it's unit ID,
    and the mapset ID:3550.
    Save the key it produces in the Garmin folder in your GPS unit as a text file named: gmapsupp.unl
    Maps are now unlocked for the GPS unit as well.

    I doubt you’ll lose any functionality that way.
    Last edited by Art; 14-09-18 at 12:02 AM.

  • #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    144
    Reputation
    221

    Default

    That was all well & good for 60csx. The 64st, different story :O

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •