Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: my new mame - pin cab

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,119
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 587 Times in 253 Posts
    Rep Power
    961
    Reputation
    32387

    Default my new mame - pin cab

    after reading a post about addictive games etc it bought
    back memories of the good old games so i decided to
    build a mame cab.

    while thinking about it i decided to make it a pinball
    setup as well and started playing with vision pinball
    and hyperspin for the mame .

    So started with a 32' lcd for the main screen and a 19' for the back-glass
    screen for the pinball that is designed to drop down when not playing pinball

    Then on the inside i have a dualcore 3ghz cpu with 4gig ram and twin
    1tb drives and a gtx610 video card .

    hooked up to that is the basic usb encoder with 8 buttons per player plus joystick for mame
    plus the 3 main buttons for the pinball and extra buttons for mame admin.

    this is the final result just needs a final polish














    Last edited by fandtm666; 26-07-15 at 02:26 PM.

  2. The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    + Show/Hide list of the thanked

    Bagman (26-07-15),BillyGoat (15-08-15),crazy (15-08-15),DB44 (26-07-15),jimbo123 (26-07-15),LeroyPatrol (26-07-15),lsemmens (15-08-15),mickstv (11-08-15),mkhannah (26-07-15),Mods (14-08-15),ol' boy (14-08-15),Rick (18-04-16),SS Dave (26-07-15),vnboost (17-08-15),wwf (17-08-15)



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    mkhannah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,520
    Thanks
    3,553
    Thanked 1,542 Times in 782 Posts
    Rep Power
    637
    Reputation
    20462

    Default

    Well done that looks brilliant!

  • #3
    Member gavogr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Adelaide Nth East
    Posts
    442
    Thanks
    122
    Thanked 30 Times in 19 Posts
    Rep Power
    165
    Reputation
    394

    Default

    That looks Fantastic,
    Beats mine from a few years ago.
    Did you use your own Plans or did you download them some where
    Thanks for sharing it looks great,

  • #4
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,119
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 587 Times in 253 Posts
    Rep Power
    961
    Reputation
    32387

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gavogr View Post
    That looks Fantastic,
    Beats mine from a few years ago.
    Did you use your own Plans or did you download them some where
    Thanks for sharing it looks great,
    Thanks i had to design it myself due to the size of the screen i was
    going to use but also the fact i was also going to have pinball
    on it i had to make sure it was at a comfortable height and width.

  • #5
    Member gavogr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Adelaide Nth East
    Posts
    442
    Thanks
    122
    Thanked 30 Times in 19 Posts
    Rep Power
    165
    Reputation
    394

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by diavalo13666 View Post
    Thanks i had to design it myself due to the size of the screen i was
    going to use but also the fact i was also going to have pinball
    on it i had to make sure it was at a comfortable height and width.
    cool,
    so what controllers do you use for the pinball and the games etc
    My mame uses a standard controller connected to the pc keyboard port on the pc but dont thin it has the ability to run the dual screen and pinball bits

  • #6
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,266
    Thanks
    7,598
    Thanked 4,821 Times in 2,379 Posts
    Rep Power
    2124
    Reputation
    87680

    Default

    Off topic: Every time I read that thread title I see "my new name - pin cab"! The first time I saw it, I thought, "OK? Who have we got here?". Now BOT; Bloody brilliant piece of work diavlo.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #7
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,119
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 587 Times in 253 Posts
    Rep Power
    961
    Reputation
    32387

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gavogr View Post
    cool,
    so what controllers do you use for the pinball and the games etc
    i am using a usb keyboard encoder and when running pinball
    i run joy2key. As for the pinball using a second monitor that
    is nothing special because as long as you have a video card
    that has dual output the software does all the work

  • The Following User Says Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    gavogr (15-08-15)

  • #8
    Member gavogr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Adelaide Nth East
    Posts
    442
    Thanks
    122
    Thanked 30 Times in 19 Posts
    Rep Power
    165
    Reputation
    394

    Default

    Might have to look into converting mine over at some stage.

    Where did you buy your bits and Pieces?

    CHEERS
    Last edited by gavogr; 15-08-15 at 01:34 PM.

  • #9
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,119
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 587 Times in 253 Posts
    Rep Power
    961
    Reputation
    32387

    Default

    bought the bulk of the items from No1 but also a few bits from 2 other different places

    1: xxx.austinamusements.com.au

    2: xxx.diyarcade.com.au

    3: xxx.ozstick.com.au

  • The Following User Says Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    gavogr (16-08-15)

  • #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 22 Times in 11 Posts
    Rep Power
    150
    Reputation
    182

    Default

    nice work.....

  • #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    458
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 176 Times in 110 Posts
    Rep Power
    204
    Reputation
    2281

    Default

    well done

  • #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Age
    46
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quick question...how are you getting power to it?

    I have a kit I bought from wwf and what I was hoping to do was have an inlet such as the one in the image to connect power to rather than having a cable hanging out the side.

    Is this how the majority are doing it or do they have some other option?

    Would welcome any feedback.

    Cheers

  • #13
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,119
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 587 Times in 253 Posts
    Rep Power
    961
    Reputation
    32387

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jollster101 View Post
    Quick question...how are you getting power to it?

    I have a kit I bought from wwf and what I was hoping to do was have an inlet such as the one in the image to connect power to rather than having a cable hanging out the side.

    Is this how the majority are doing it or do they have some other option?

    Would welcome any feedback.

    Cheers
    That is what i have installed in the base of my unit , then for peace of mind inside where it comes
    through and the connections are made i placed a junction box just to enclose the connection for
    safety

  • #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Age
    46
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by diavalo13666 View Post
    That is what i have installed in the base of my unit , then for peace of mind inside where it comes
    through and the connections are made i placed a junction box just to enclose the connection for
    safety
    Thanks. Curious if soldered the cables on or use spade connectors?

  • #15
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,119
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 587 Times in 253 Posts
    Rep Power
    961
    Reputation
    32387

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jollster101 View Post
    Thanks. Curious if soldered the cables on or use spade connectors?
    spade connectors

  • #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Age
    46
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by diavalo13666 View Post
    spade connectors
    Thanks.

  • #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    thats a cool looking hyperpin cabinet, maybe one day I will get around to making one but unfortunatly time and space in the man cave is limited

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •